The Mysterious Case Of The Missing Blogger

You may have noticed that I have been absent, missing, on the down low, the dl, incognito.

Maybe, it isn’t really all that mysterious.  After all, I have lost my marbles in the past and flew the coop with little to no warning.

It is likely that this is what you presumed (notice I did not say you assumed, therefore I didn’t accuse you of making and ass out of you or me) was going on.

As I alluded to in my previous post, I have been using my “free” time to read, study, reasearch, learn.

For a while now, I have been telling Chris that in order for any diet to really work for me I have to get off the processed foods.  Plain and simple.  They are bad for you and addictive (at least to someone like me, who already has an addictive personality).  I have also expressed to him the desire to get the kids off of processed foods and sugar for more than a little while. 

I don’t want them growing up with the same food issues I have dealt with for a lifetime.  I want to teach them to make healthy and wise food choices.  But you really have to lead by example where that is concerned.  It does no good to preach to your kids about the perils of super refined and sugar laden foods while having a candy bar in one hand and a coke in the other.

After doing some internet research on the Paleo diet, I decided I wanted more information.  I know I could have gotten most if not all the information I needed right off the internet, but I like the idea of holding a book in my hands, turning the pages one at a time, even dog earing the pages as I come to a point I must stop reading.

So, off to the books store I went. 

I purchased The Paleo Solution: The original Human Diet by Robb Wolf.

I freaking loved it!

It was funny, smart, insightful and revetting.  I remembered enough of my EMS classes that at least the parts of the book that had information that I’ve previously been exposed too was correct. 

You may be wondering what The Paleo Diet is exactly

My interpretation is this:  Low carb minus all processed foods and dairy.

Will it be hard?  Yes!  I love my cheese and sour cream.

Will it be worth it?  Yes, I believe not only will I start feeling better, I will also start looking better.

This next week will be spent making the transition to a processed foods and dairy free lifestyle.  I am also going to be making the switch to grass-fed beef, and butters made from grass-fed beef.   I will begin trying to incorporate more wild fish and eggs enriched with omega-3.  All of this along with a rainbow of fresh vegetables (limited fruits due to my blood sugar issues).

I’ll be sure to keep you updated on my progress.

 

 

3 Comments

Filed under Diet, Health, Weight

3 responses to “The Mysterious Case Of The Missing Blogger

  1. Heli

    Fantastic! Good luck, I think it could do wonders for your health and is a great step for your family as well. I bet that over time your blood sugar will stabilize enough that you can enjoy fruit regularly. I eat clean lowcarb, which for me just means whole foods, tons of veggies, some fruit, dairy, and very little processed foods or artificial sweeteners. Over the years (almost 15 eating lowcarb) my diet has naturally become closer to Paleo but I haven’t been inspired to drop dairy completely. Maybe someday. 🙂 My kids are 3 & 5 and it is a challenge to avoid all the snacky helper foods but I figure it’s so important to get them off to a healthy start metabolically, and also teach them to enjoy real food: peanut butter w/o added sugar, real oatmeal that doesn’t come in a packet with “Maple” flavor, etc.

  2. You have sparked my interest and now what to read up about this diet. Hope you have found a way of eating that works for you.

  3. Elizabeth

    Yeah I think I’ll look into that. Since I started school, my fast food consumption has gone up TREMENDOUSLY! I hate it but I’m so darn busy I don’t know if I’m coming or going half the time. I pray I can stop this horrible cycle and change my path.

Leave a Reply

