Day 11

Wow, it’s already been 11 days.  I’m also finishing up day 3 of my #7daychip challenge. 

I am writing this blog a little earlier than I normally would because tomorrow is going to be very busy.  I have to finish up school clothes shopping for 3 members of the wrecking crew.  I have decided to break it up into shifts, because they make it almost impossible to shop when they are all together.

This mornings fasting blood sugar was 144 mg/dl. 

And tonight before and after dinner blood sugars were 161 mg/dl and 189 mg/dl, respectfully.

I think the reason they were so high all day is because I sipped on a diet coke literally all day long.  My mother and I took the girls shopping for their school shoes and it was hot and a diet coke was convent (although obviously not smart).  Back on water tomorrow….sigh.

Breakfast:  1/2 of a 3 egg and cheese omelette with picante sauce on top.

Lunch:  Chicken club sandwich from Chick-fil-A minus the buns.

Dinner:  Taco salad  (taco meat, lettuce, tomato, cheese, sour cream, and hot sauce) and 2 “low carb” tortillas. 

Snack:  1/2 cup unsweetened almond breeze milk (I was in a milk mood).

Even being “low carb” the tortillas still had 6 net carbs each.  However, they didn’t seem to make my blood sugar spike, so that is a plus.  And they were actually pretty tasty.  I cut them into 1/4ths and then sent them for a quick dip in a little bit of hot oil to crisp them up.  I was very pleased with them.  So thank you Heli for the wonderful suggestion!  Keep ’em coming.

I don’t normally post everything I eat.  But I know my friend, who also struggles with elevated glucose levels, is always looking for suggestions and ideas.  I am hoping that this may help!?

My toes are still pretty tender.  I tried my tennis shoes on today and was unable to wear them for more than about 2 minutes.  Man did I do a number cutting them too short or what?  Pray for them to heal up this next week.  The 5k in 100 days class begins on August 29th.  I want in and I want to be ready and I don’t want something as silly as 2 sore toes keeping me from it.  Pray pray pray, please.

1 Comment

Filed under Diet, Health

One response to “Day 11

  1. Elizabeth

    I love the ideas for meals. They are simple and I would of never come up with it. When we did Atkins, all my unimaginative mind came up with was grilled chicken breast and a hard boiled egg. To this day I kind of cringe when I see those two things. Keep up the good work. And I will pray the Lord will heal your feet.

Leave a Reply

