Day 9

Yesterday was a better day than Tuesday was.  I remained in control.  I did not let my stomach or emotions make decisions for me.

The problem with yesterday was, I didn’t eat enough.  I just didn’t feel like eating.  I don’t know if it was because I physically just didn’t feel well or what, but I didn’t eat until dinner.  Even at that I ate a “normal” portion and was done.

AM fasting blood sugar:  186 mg/dl.

6 pm blood sugar:   124 mg/dl.

After dinner blood sugar (2 hours after):   149 mg/dl.

My numbers are improving at least.

My friend Liz asked for me to give her an example of things I make to eat.  Last nights dinner was Cream of mushroom chicken.

I start with 1/2 stick unsalted butter melted in a non-stick skillet.  I then brown mushroom slices with a little salt added to help draw the moisture out of them.  DON’T CROWD THE MUSHROOMS or they won’t brown properly (Thank you Julie & Julia).

Once my mushrooms are browned I remove them to a paper towel lined plate.

In the same skillet I add 1 tbsp olive oil and my garlic salt and peppered chicken breast (I cook 1 chicken breast per person), boneless and  skin less of course.

Brown the chicken on both sides and then remove from pan.

Melt the other 1/2 stick of butter and return the mushrooms and add in heavy cream.  I usually add enough to cover the chicken.  I am serving 6 people and using a large skillet (for those of you with fewer people, you may not need as much).

Place chicken in to butter/mushroom/cream mixture and place lid on.  Reduce heat to medium low and allow to simmer for approximately 20 minutes (until chicken is cooked through).

I serve with a salad and steamed broccoli with cheese.

That’s an example of a dinner menu.  Tonight it will be hamburgers (minus the bun for me) with grilled onion, mushroom and bell pepper.  I’ll serve it with a salad and some green beans (that I can eat with my fingers to substitute for that french fry action).

Nothing fancy.  I eat pretty much what I would normally, only I take out as much of the carbs as I can.

We are on the downward slide to the weekend!  Hope ya’ll have a good one!

C-ya!

 

 

2 Comments

Filed under Diet, Health

2 responses to “Day 9

  1. Melissa K

    Keep it up girl! Your dinner sounds yummy! 🙂 Praying for you!

  2. Elizabeth

    Thanks for the recipe. I’m reading this right now starving for something to eat. It’s one of those days where I’m not in the mood for anything. OMG am I sick??? Hehe. Keep up the great work and I totally understand letting emotions make your food decisions.

Leave a Reply

