Breakfast Conversation a la Catherynn

Here is a little back story to help you appreciate what happened today.

Catherynn turned 6 in April and she recently completed Kindergarten.  She is a reader and a counter, and she can name her shapes and colors without flaw.

She is an aspiring ballerina and princess.

Catherynn is fearless.  The first to leap and the last to look.

Catherynn is also an accomplished snuggler.  She can find a way to wrap her body around yours that reminds me of snuggling with a spider monkey.

Often, you can find her over-loving any available cat or dog.

This morning’s conversation with Catherynn:

6:00 am

Catherynn:  Mommy?

Me (cracking my eyes open):  Yes, Catherynn?

Catherynn:  Mommy, I’m hungry.

Me:  What do you want to eat?

Catherynn:  Eggs!  Sunny side up.

Me:  Oh Cat.  It’s too early, I don’t want to get up just yet.

6:03 am

Catherynn:  Mommy?

Me:  Yes, Catherynn?

Catherynn:  Mommy, what else can I have?  I’m really hungry.

Me:  Toast?

Catherynn:  No

Me:  Cereal?

Catherynn:  We don’t have any.

Me:  Well, what sounds good to you?

Catherynn:  I don’t know.

Me:  Well, think about it.  If you want to wait for a little bit, I’ll fix eggs.

Catherynn  Ok, Mommy.

6:15 am

Catherynn:  Mommy?

Me:  Yes, Catherynn?

Catherynn:  Mommy, do you want me to make you a peanut butter sandwich?

Me:  That’s ok Catherynn.  I really don’t like peanut butter.

Catherynn:  Ok, Mommy.

6:25 am

Catherynn:  Mommy?

Me:  Yes, Catherynn?

Catherynn:  Mommy, are you sure you don’t want a peanut butter sandwich?  I make the best peanut butter sandwiches ever!

Me:  I’m sure you do make wonderful peanut butter sandwiches, but I really don’t like peanut butter.

Catherynn:  Ok, Mommy.

6:30 am

Catherynn:  Mommy?

Me:  Yes, Catherynn?

Catherynn:  Are you sure you don’t want me to fix you a sandwich?

Me:  Ok, Cat.  Make me one of your super awesome peanut butter sandwiches.

Catherynn:  Really?

Me:  Yes, really.

Catherynn:  But you don’t like peanut butter.

Me:  I know.  But you’ve talked about it so much, I have to try one of your sandwiches!

Catherynn:  Cool!

Then I hear “weeeeeee” as she runs into the kitchen.  The “weeeee” is followed by about 15 minutes of banging.

6:45 am

Catherynn:  Your most wonderful peanut butter sandwich, my queen (as she hands me a sandwich).

Me:  Thank you my princess.  Did you make you one?

Catherynn:  Not yet.  Going to do that now.

I then proceed to eat my sandwich.

7:00 am

Me:  Cat, are you ok?  Are you done yet?

Catherynn:  Just about.

Me:  What’s taking so long?

Catherynn:  Did you know Rocco Bama likes peanut butter?

Me:  No, I didn’t know that.  Don’t be feeding the cat our food, he has his own.

Catherynn:  Ok, Mommy.

7:05 am

Me:  Cat, are you done yet?

Catherynn:  No, not yet.

Me:  Catherynn, what is the hold up?

Catherynn:  Rocco’s head is stuck in the peanut butter jar.

Me:  Why is the cat’s head in the peanut butter jar?

Catherynn:  He likes peanut butter!

Catherynn:  Mommy, I can’t get his head out of the jar!

Me:  Leave him alone, maybe he can do it.

Catherynn:  Mommy, I think he is really stuck!

Me:  Why do you think that?

Catherynn:  Because, he got his head out  so I could make your sandwich!

Nice!

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Diet, Fun

Leave a Reply

