Crash and Burn

I’m having a bad week.  Already.  And, it’s only Tuesday!

Yesterday I was back to day 1 of the #7daychip challenge.  I was ok with it as I prepared Sunday night for the week.  Too bad Camrynn doesn’t understand that when I am exhausted, I don’t function well.  At all.

Normally I put the girls to bed between 8 and 8:30 pm.  Most nights it is past 9 pm before they actually calm down and go to sleep.  After the girls are snoozing in their beds, I stay up for a few hours of  me time.  I usually try to go to bed by 11 pm and most defiantly by 12 am. 

If you know me at all, you know that this is a huge challenge for me.  I am a night owl.  I am most awake and productive during the hours “normal” people sleep.  I don’t know why this is.  I’ve always been that way.

Sunday night as I was getting ready to go to bed, Camrynn decided she would get up.  I did everything I could think of to get her to go back to bed.  A new diaper, refill of milk, rocked her, played with her, threatened to not let her watch cartoons for a year!  Everything.  Then at about 4:30 am, Christyan woke up.  I begged and pleaded with her to go back to bed.  Nope.

She wasn’t having it.  Christyan actually fell back asleep about 6:30 am.  Which was funny to me, since she had to get up for school at 6:45.

Camrynn finally did go to sleep about 8 am.  Except she only slept for about an hour and was up and at ’em.  Ugg.

Last night, Chris and I were in bed by 10:30 pm.  I think I passed out as soon as my head hit the pillow.  I don’t even remember pulling the covers up.  Heaven.

Sometime about 1 am, Christyan came to get in bed with us.  I fussed at her for a second trying to convince her to go back to her bed or the couch.  Just about the time I convinced her to go, here came Catherynn. 

I just got up. 

We have a king sized bed, but Chris and I are large people and the addition of 2 kids for more than an hour is painful.

I reclined in my recliner, but couldn’t ever get comfortable enough to sleep.  Which is very strange, because when I am not trying to sleep, I always fall asleep in my chair.

Here we are on Tuesday and I am exhausted and beat down already. 

I don’t deal or function well when I am tired.  My being tired greatly intensifies  the stressors in my life.  And, well we have discussed previously at how horrible I am at handling stress.

My food choices have not been good for the past two days.

Chris brought me a sausage and biscuit with hash browns yesterday morning for breakfast.  Then I didn’t eat all day and for dinner last night I decided we’d have stir fry for simplicity sake.  I didn’t have it in me to try to cook.

Then this morning, without even thinking about it, I had two Little Debbie doughnut sticks.  Ugg.

My redeeming move today?  For lunch I had a serving of egg beaters with mushrooms and bell peppers on a bagel thin.  Not a horrible lunch, easy on my Weight Watchers points and I am full.  Tired but full.

I am hoping for a nap before I have to go pick up the three senior members of the wrecking crew from school.  However, Camrynn is showing no signs of being interested.

In fact, she just pulled some of the leaves off of Carolyne’s cabbage plant she has in the window seal.

1 Comment

Filed under Diet, Health

One response to “Crash and Burn

  1. Elizabeth

    I have no answers but know that I understand how you feel about failure, food and all that crap. You also have the added challenge of kids. Keep up trying Christi, I know that you are going to make it. I wish I had that kind of faith in me but I have failed too too much. Maybe I’ll stumble upon an answer one day, Lord willing……….

Leave a Reply

