That “Special” Time Of The Month

WARNING:  The following blog may include TMI

And for your information, there is nothing about “that time of the month” that is special or makes me feel special.

Yes, my monthly visitor came calling again this week.  Is it wrong that I am not even 36 yet and I pray for menopause?

The reason I bring this up, is because of how horrible and shitty I feel the week of my visitor’s visit.

Physically I always feel bloated and achy.  The scale shows an increase, even when I know I have been doing everything right.   In turn this makes me doubt the things I have been doing.  I won’t even going into the changes that having 4 kids have brought about.  Speaking of which, why in the world would other women/doctors not warn you to expect this prior to giving birth?   Mentally I am moody, emotional and irrational. 

It has me wondering if others out there suffer through similar things during their “special” time of the month?  What do you do to combat it?

3 Comments

Filed under Health

3 responses to “That “Special” Time Of The Month

  1. I am going through the same thing right now. There is nothing I can do. I had to fight to get my tubal at 29 (I had two kids, I knew I didn’t want anymore..) and now I look forward to menopause. I’ve thought about asking my gyno for the BC pills that reduce the monthly visitor to 3 times a year, but the reason I had the tubal is so I wouldn’t have to have BC pills.
    I start with horrible cramps and back pain, clots, heavy flow…then my wonderful period decides to stop for 12-24 hours, only to start back up again for another two days. It’s miserable.
    If you find a good solution, let me know please!! 😦

  2. I just try to ride it out!! I get bitchy and snacky, bloated and generally miserable 😦

  3. Jamie

    Ok so.. Mine is horrible too.. I finally had to go to the doctor for my mood swings. She actually prescribed some Prozac. I’m not sure I like it but so far I’m calm and the symptoms have decreased. Maybe you might have Pmdd.. It’s worth the visit to the doctor to find out. I hate taking meds but girl I swear I’m gonna hurt someone if I don’t!! Love you!! Keep that head up and keep pushing through!

Leave a Reply

