What’s Satisfying?

Deciding to revamp a diet in order to make it healthier always involves chosing healthier foods and portion sizes.

I was not prepared.

Of course I knew I would have to give up my dumdums and ho-hos on a daily basis.  What has been difficult though is realizing how skewed my portion sizes are.

Before embarking on my diet over haul, I did not realize that half of a medium-sized potato was a serving, or that a 16 oz rib eye was far, far (about 4 x) too much.  I never had a clue that most salad dressings, mayo, sour cream, cream cheese etc. servings sizes are two tablespoons.

I can’t tell you how many times I would choose a baked potato to eat, because I thought it was the healthier choice.  I often ate large (3-4 servings) baked potatoes dripping with butter, sour cream, cheese, bacon and chives.  That of course was along with an entire rib eye steak.

No wonder I am fat.

That is one of the great things about Weight Watchers.  At the meetings the leader does a great job of giving out information onwhat a real serving size is and what it looks like.

Le me clarify by saying this:  Yes, of course, I can read labels and I know what a serving size is via label information.  I am strictly talking about bulk fruits, veggies and unlabeled meats.

At Weight Watchers (& I am sure other places too) they say eat until you are no longer hungry, or eat until you are satisfied.

Well, which is it?  For me, there is a huge difference between no longer feeling hunger and feeling satisfied.

I am the type of person who doesn’t feel “satisfied” until I almost feel stuffed.  Even if that means going back for 2nds & 3rds.

Sadly, 2nds & 3rds often come even though I no longer feel hunger.  I know I do this out of habit.  It is a habit because this is how I have always approached eating.  It usually leaves me feeling miserable, guilty and angry.

Do you have any tips on how to stop eating once I no longer feel hunger, but not necessarily feeling “satisfied”?

1 Comment

Filed under Diet

One response to “What’s Satisfying?

  1. Melissa Khammash

    What I am doing with my mom in law (she is on a much stricter diet now due to high blood pressure) as she tended in the past to eat like what you are describing: 1. she fills her plate —2/3rds of fresh uncooked veggies, 1/3 protein (bean, fish, chicken, ect) (and the protein is a very small portion) 2. uses a smaller diameter plate–so it looks like much more food, 3. no salt, sugar, or caffine (raises blood pressure levels) and the last but most important 4. she eats 4-5 smaller meals a day —she is feeling fuller and eats only when she actually begins to feel a bit hungry. It is working actually. Her other thing is that I am making her exercise (ie, walking in place while watching TV) 3 times a day for 30 min intervals. She never has done this before by the way. I am trying to get her to lose some weight as this will help her keep her blood pressure (and any other future health issues) more under control. It is working actually. The 30 min (x3 a day) of walking in place and eating smaller portions more often lowers her blo0d pressure to almost normal. It is amazing.

    Today I am back on the “wagon” watching everything I eat and exercising. I can’t use the cold weather as an excuse anymore. I have gained some of the weight back that I lost previously and I am so ticked off at myself for letting it happen. 😦

Leave a Reply

