Chart Making for Idiots And First Giveaway

Last night I decided to make a chart, or graph, that I can hang up as a visual reminder of where I have come from and where I am going.  I got this idea from David over at Keep It Up David.  He will often post pictures of his chart as he updates it.  This chart of his chronicles the history of his weight loss.  In David’s pictures, his chart is always hanging nicely on the wall in his closet.  The most impressive part of David’s chart though, is the way the lines seemingly, even effortlessly, cascade down the wall over 5 different pieces of graph paper.  Along the way, he has visibly marked his goals.  I once ribbed him a little about his chart and David said to me “There isn’t much you can’t improve upon with a chart”.

Like an eager student, I took my cue from a master.  I kind of figure after successfully losing 161 lbs, he must know what he is talking about.

So, last night I decided it was time to make my chart.  I’ll admit it, I was excited.  Granted, I have not actually lost much weight and I am not very far into my journey, but in my head I could see my chart hanging on the wall.  Chronicling  all of my successes.

Being cheap I decided the best course of action would be the “build it yourself” graph paper.  I got out a legal pad, ruler, pencil and quickly proceeded to make my own graph paper.  Just FYI, next time I’ll spend the 50 cents on a pack of graph paper.

Homemade graph paper in hand, I write weights (by pound) along one edge and dates along the other edge of the paper.  I went all the way back to October 1, 2010 to begin my weight plotting. 

I placed a dot on each line that corresponded to the weight for that particular date.  As I made my dots, I connected the previous weeks dot with the next. 

After I was finished, I looked over my work, rather disappointed mind you.

The line on my chart doesn’t cascade effortlessly down the page.  It is more of a zig zag pattern.

And, I am not sure if it is a failure of dieting or a failure of my chart making ability.  My line, that is supposed to correspond with weight loss, therefore heading downwards, appears to be going up instead.

Homemade graph paper chart: FAIL!

In other news, this is my 100th blog post!  100 blogs baby!  Apparently I have a lot more to say than I ever imagined. 

As a celebration of my 100th blog, I have decided to have a little giveaway*.

I knew I wanted to do something special to celebrate with my loyal reader(s), but I couldn’t figure out what.

Then it occurred to me, music.  Music is such an important part of our lives.  It can motivate and cheer you up, it can comfort during times of sorrow.

I recently wrote about discovering the importance of music and how valuable it can be during a workout.  The right song, the right tempo can really help you push through something difficult by taking your mind off of the pain.

Here is your chance to win a $10 e-certificate from iTunes.  It should be noted that iTunes did not give this e-certificate to me, nor do they sponsor FindingChristi.  I am giving this e-certificate of my own free will and desire to show appreciation to those of you who support me.

*Rules and disclaimer mumbo jumbo:
You can enter by one way and one way only, leave a comment below with your answers to both questions.  There must be 2 answers in one comment and you can only enter once or be disqualified.
The contest will run until Monday, February 14, 2011 at 6 p.m. central standard time.  At that time, I will close comments and a random number generator, flip of a quarter or blind finger point will be used to find the winner.  I will announce the winner on this blog Tuesday, February 15, 2011 at 12 p.m. central standard time.  Once posted, the winner will have 24 hours to contact me.  If no winner comes forward within the 24 hours, I will re-draw for another winner.  The results of the re-draw will be posted here Wednesday, February 16, 2011 at 6 p.m central standard time.  So forth and so on.
 

So, here we go!  Are you ready?

I want to know 2 things.

  1. What is your all time favorite song?
  2. What is your current favorite workout song?

For me, my all time favorite song is Rebel Yell Billy idol (I know, I am a child of the 80’s).

My current favorite workout song is Let’s Get It StartedBlack Eyed Peas.

7 Comments

Filed under Fun, Health

7 responses to “Chart Making for Idiots And First Giveaway

  1. 1. What is your all time favorite song?
    -This is such a hard question as my taste in music changes SO much. I used to love anything by Linkin’ Park, but now I like anything by Ke$ha. So I’ll narrow it down to ‘One Step Closer’ by Linkin’ Park

    2. What is your current favorite workout song?
    -Currently I really enjoy listening to ‘Like a G6’ when working out!

    I love iTunes, so that would be awesome to win, maybe then I could find some new workout music!!!!!!!

  2. Music cures all!
    1. Enjoy the Silence -Depeche Mode
    2. Just a Dream – Nelly
    🙂

  3. Great job with the chart, and love the contest!

    1) Do I have to choose? “Every Little Thing She Does Is Magic” The Police.
    2) “Wind It Up” Gwen Stefani.

    Oohhh – I hope I win!

  4. Darla Hall

    My favorite song is Jack and Diane but my favorite current workout song is Pump up the Jam 🙂 Love ya Christi

  5. Jennifer

    1. Eye of the tiger
    2. I gotta a feeling

  6. 1. My all-time favorite song is “Comfortably Numb” Pink Floyd.
    2. My current favorite workout song is “Assassin” Muse.

    Congrats on your 100th blog post!

  7. Dalynn

    Fav. Song- “Save your goodbye” Mike Posner

    Workout song- “My Humps” Fergie