You May Not Know Jack, But I Do

Since I decided to take my weight loss struggles public via multiple social networking medias, i.e. Twitter, Facebook, the blogging community, I have been blessed.  B.L.E.S.S.E.D!

I can’t even begin to convey the vast amount of support and encouragement I have been receiving.  A good portion of this out pouring of love comes from people I know in “real life”, but the majority of it comes from people that I have connected with thru the various outlets.

I now can say that I have blog friends, Twitter friends and friends on Facebook that my journey has brought me to.  Many have even become multi-social network friends.  I mean, how great is it that someone hundreds, sometimes thousands of miles away, can have such a positive impact on my life?

The point of all this is not to take anything  away from the friends and family I have known for years.  Instead it is to highlight what an invaluable tool things like the blogging community, Facebook and Twitter can be.  While the relationships formed virtually may just be “on the computer”, they are often very tangible and provide an opportunity for relationships, that would have been impossible just 10 or 15 years ago, to be formed.

Anyways, all of this was said to tell you about this dude over at Jack Sh*t, Gettin’ Fit.  Even if you are not trying to lose weight, and you don’t mind a little off-putting, colorful humor (Ok, A LOT) you really should check him out.  Jack has a vast knowledge and experience in the weight loss arena.  Maybe I am begging for some abuse here, but I am drawn to his blog and Twitter feeds.  If you can get past his gruffness, Jack calls it like it is.  He offers tips and pointers based on his experiences from his own journey.  And for those lucky, special few he offers support and encouragement.  The thing I like most about Jack is that he doesn’t mince words when calling BS.  Jack will even call you out publicly if he thinks you are abusing his time and efforts by only offering lip service.

What I have realized through all of this is:  Talk is cheap.  While people are willing to support and encourage you, if all you do is talk about losing weight and never put any efforts into it, they eventually will stop being as supportive.

Time to put up or shut up!

Go give Jack at Jack Sh*t, Gettin’ Fit some love.  Because, you don’t know sh*t until you know Jack Sh*t!

1 Comment

Filed under General, Health

One response to “You May Not Know Jack, But I Do

  1. Thanks for the super shoutout, Christi. You’re right, the world really has changed quite a bit and allowed us all to redefine what friendship and support can be (and is).

    One note on the “Bodfather” posts at JSGF. I asked my readership for volunteers on an experiment where I tried to help them along and blogged about their journey. They signed up for it, and I warned them that I’d be cruel if they faltered.

    You’re right, I’ll still call “bullsh*t” when I see it, but I’m going to be harder on the “Bodfather” crew because that’s what they signed up for…

    Thanks again for the kind words. Much appreciated.

Leave a Reply

