I Wanna Be A Loser Too

After hearing that I had sent in the initial letter to be on Heavy, a friend of my nephew’s stepbrother’s dad’s wife’s daughter asked me if I would be interested in applying to The Biggest Loser as well.  Even though I have never actually seen an episode of The Biggest Loser, I am all about it!  Doing something, anything, that will teach me new skills, make losing weight more fun and increase my chances of winning $250,000, I am all for it.

I scoped out The Biggest Loser’s application process.  The most notable difference in applying for The Biggest Loser versus Heavy is a required 5 minutes video of what your weight struggles are currently and why you are ready.

Since I have never willingly been in a video, the thought of this scares me.  What the hell do I say in a video that will make me stand out from the numerous other applicants? 

I spent the afternoon over at YouTube watching video after video.  Some of the videos were sad, some where heart wrenching.  All of the people in the videos had one common theme, like me, they simply were not equipped and did not have the skills to make this journey alone.

We have all heard it before, obesity is becoming an epidemic.  How do we change this?

Obviously the average Joe is either ill-equipped or fails to teach their children about the importance of proper nutrition and exercise.

For my part, with or without the help of Heavy or The Biggest Loser, I will figure all of this out and do my absolute best to educate and prepare my children to lead healthy, active lives.  Giving them the skills and knowledge that they can eventually pass on to their children.

As a parent it is my responsibility to ensure that the cycle of obesity ends with me.

Any thoughts on what my audition video should include or be like?

1 Comment

Filed under General, Health

One response to “I Wanna Be A Loser Too

  1. Melissa Khammash

    What you have said /written in your letter to Heavy you should include in this video definitely. Maybe tape you working out at the gym a couple of minutes. Maybe show how you are trying to improve the foods you all eat by taping what you have in your fridge/pantry. show a pic of you and all your kids and your hubby when talking about how much more active you would like to be with your family and how much you want for your girls to grow up knowing how to eat well and live healthy lives and not be in the position you are in now. —those are some ideas I can think of off the top of my head right at the moment. I hope and pray it will work out for you! You are in my prayers anyways girl!!!! LOVE YOU!

Leave a Reply

