The Long Good-Bye

It is time for a change.
A time for an end.
I know I will miss you, and have the urge to find you again.
We’ve had a relationship for years.
Almost a life time, in fact.
Together we have faced good times and bad.
The one constant through thick and thin.
But our relationship is toxic.
You are no good for me.
I am on a journey to change my life and  you are no longer welcomed.
It is a  journey that starts with a single step.
And that step is leading me in a direction away from you.
 

It may seem unusual to you that I have written an ode to diet coke.  To those of you who have struggled with addiction to soda, this may be all be very familiar. 

It has taken sometime for me to come to terms with not having diet coke, or any soda for that matter, in my life.

I am finally ready to let it go.  The reality of how bad sodas really are for me has finally sunk in.  I know it won’t be easy, but it is the first real change of many to come on this journey to being healthier.

2 Comments

Filed under General

2 responses to “The Long Good-Bye

  1. Crystal

    I gave it up too! Its was my drug of choice. But now I have kicked it…9 months no soda! I was a Diet Coke Aholic…you can do this! 🙂

  2. Kristi donohoe

    I think I am going to have to check myself into rehab for my dr. pepper addiction. I can’t even drink diet soda because I am allergic to the aspartame! I managed to quit smoking but I can’t seem to kick the dr.pepper.

Leave a Reply

