It’s A Feel Good Thing

It is day 3 of taking the 5-HTP’s.  If you will recall, I have been depressed for a little over a month.  It has been on of those lingering, deep, dark depressions.  However, with the 5-HTP’s, a naturally occurring amino acid, I have started noticing some improvements.  I would not say I am 100% yet, but I did manage to go all day yesterday without shedding a single tear.  Also, I wasn’t all doom and gloom all day.  I even managed to crack a joke or two and smile occasionally.

While I may not be where I want to be yet, I’ve been feeling so much better, I’ve even managed to look to the future.  The past month I have just been existing.  Living one day to the next, with little to no hope for the future.  But, with the up swing in my mood, that I am praying will last, I managed to set a few goals for me to work on this next week.

  • Wake up at 6 a.m. every morning.  This one will be a struggle because I am naturally a night owl.  I have to work on this or I end up sleeping all day and get nothing done.
  • Bedtime at 10 p.m.  Again, this will be a struggle, because normally I view night-time, after the wrecking crew goes to bed as my time.  Instead of having several hours in the middle of the night where I do nothing except watch TV or be on the computer, I am going to try to accept an hour in the morning and 2 after the girls 8 p.m. bed time as my time.  I am hoping this helps me with keeping my house work done up, since I’ll be awake during the day for a change.
  • 8 hours of sleep every night.  For the most part, my current sleeping habits are either 3 or 4 hours during the day or 12, 15, 18 etc. hours (however many Chris will let me get away with) on the weekends.
  • Drink more water.
  • Go back to the gym.  I plan on resuming my workouts starting Monday (finally).  I’ve changed them up a bit, because I am home and alone so much, I’ve added some stuff in hopes to ward off this depression and keep me busy.
Monday – Wednesday – Friday
A.M. – Core exercises @ home
              C25k @ home
P.M. – Zumba @ the Y
 
Tuesday – Thursday
A.M. – Zumba @ home
P.M. – Weight lifting @ the Y
  • Work on my diet.  I have even made a menu for the week.

It is a start at least.  I jumped right in and was racking it in October/November.  I am hoping it will be just as easy to resume.

Weigh in in the morning and Zumba tomorrow afternoon….

Hope you had a great weekend!

2 Comments

Filed under General, Health

2 responses to “It’s A Feel Good Thing

  1. Elizabeth

    I’m glad things are going better for you Christi. I know depression can just be so overwhelming. Sorry for not posting much lately but this surgery recovery is more than I thought. Keep up the good work and I know the Lord is going to bless you tremendously.

  2. Melissa Khammash

    Glad things are looking up for you! Happy you have a plan and are going for it now! 🙂 Praying for you girl!

Leave a Reply

