The Sexy Plan

Sometimes moments of clarity (or brilliance?) occur at the most unexpected moments.  I’ll be sitting there, vegging out, thinking about nothing in particular, when out of the blue something that should have been plain as day to begin with, will unwrap itself in the great enigma that is my  mind.

Obviously, I am having a bit of a hard time wrapping my head around this whole weight loss/fitness thing.  As we have discussed before I am lazy and losing weight and getting fit is hard work.  Mix’em all together and the results are not what one would hope for.  Also, I think it’s about accountability, or lack there of, that helps to sink my boat.

So what is a fat girl who wants to be a thinner girl to do about it?

I realize that some help may lie in my friend Lydia.  Lydia is an internet friend of mine.  I  met her about 2 years ago over on MySpace.  I had been over at the Weight Watchers MySpace page reading the comments, when I read a comment by Lydia.  In her comment she was detailing how she had been working the program and had that very day at weigh ins had crossed the 100 pound lost mark.  At that point, I did something I had never done before…I sent her a message telling her how moved I was by her story.  Since Lydia was a complete stranger to me, I wasn’t sure if I would get a response and if I did who knew what it would be.

When Lydia did reply she was very appreciative of the support and asked me about my journey.  After exchanging a few emails, I realized how funny and carefree she is about most things.  In short, I could completely relate.  I saw, in her, myself 10 years prior.  I loved her spunky, go-get-em attitude and I really liked her.

As with anyone, over the past couple of years, Lydia’s life has taken a few twist and turns.  Namely, Lydia found the man of her dreams, the one who makes her feel complete, the one who accepts her for all she is and is ok with what she will never be, the one who encourages her and helps her to achieve her goals, the love of her life, the one.

Naturally, when Lydia met her man, along with work, family, friends and the other goings on of life, her focus shifted from her weight loss to living her life.  After sometime of this her weight has crept back on.  But, Lydia is young and spunky.  She has already lost over 100 pounds once, undoubtedly she can and will do it again.  Her experience with weight watchers has given her skills and a knowledge base to do so.

This past year, Lydia got sick of dieting, life style change or any other variation you want to call this journey we all seem to be on.  She spent some time bouncing ideas off of a couple of her friends and came up with the idea of  The Sexy Plan.

On The Sex Plan‘s FaceBook page, Lydia says: 

I came up with this brainstorm through my dear friends, Elizabeth and Alicia, and ran the idea by my friends through a note, and here I am with a page.
I just got tired of all the boring ways to describe a diet, life style change, getting healthy…blah blah blah. So with the help from some friends came up with The Sexy Plan.
Yeah its a “weight loss” page but its so much more. I want all women and men to feel confident and sexy about themselves. Yeah we’ll share weight loss goals, tips,  recipes, etc etc. But overall I want everyone to be the best damn sexy selves, they can be!

 So, how is The Sexy Plan different from the hundreds of other “weight loss” pages out there?

  1. It’s fun.  Let’s face it, dieting and exercise are hard work and boring.  At The Sexy Plan new, fresh and fun ideas are just a quick post away.
  2. It’s intimate.  Unlike the other weight loss sites out there, you aren’t just a random member left to find your way alone.  At The Sexy Plan personal encouragement, accountability and friendships are just waiting for you.
  3. It’s free.  There are other pages out there that are free as well, however, this is an entirely moderator/participant ran page.  Best part…the savings are being passed on to you!

I have done it all.  I have joined Weight Watchers.  I have used SparkPeople (which is an invaluable resource).  I have joined the YMCA and I have used ActivTrax.  What I haven’t done though, is have a network of accountability and camaraderie.

Maybe you are the type of person who can say you are going to lose weight and get fit, many of us out here in the real world though, need that extra nudge and encouragement from others. 

 The jest of all this rambling is Lydia ia an amazing young woman with a brilliant idea.  I am in the process of trying to wrap my head completely around The Sexy Plan.  I want to see this idea develop and evolve into something more.   Because, what’s the point in getting thin and healthy if you can’t find yourself, make a few friends and be sexy along the way?

2 Comments

Filed under General, Health

2 responses to “The Sexy Plan

  1. Lydia

    Awwwww I LOVE IT!!! ❤ Christi, let's get out there and be sexy!! 🙂 Its a new year and new us! 🙂

  2. Melissa Khammash

    Awesome idea! 😀 Good luck to all of us this year in reaching our goals!

Leave a Reply

