Tofu to the rescue…

I read this quote somewhere the other day.   I wish that I could remember where so that I can give credit.  If I remember I’ll give credit then.  So, without further ado, I hope it shakes up your world like it shook up mine.

“If you want to run fast, you have to run fast!”

Maybe it’s just me, but WOW!  That little sentence sums up everything I am trying to accomplish.

  • If I want to know the Lord, I have to know the Lord.
  • If I want to be healthier, I have to be healthier.

You see where this is going, right?  I don’t know why, but that one little sentence spoke volumes to me.  It some how lit a fire under my ass and I woke up today with more enthusiasm and commitment to knowing the Lord and getting healthy than I have had in a long time.

For the first time I am excited.  I am trying to visualize myself thin.  This is hard.  I have never been thin.  I can’t wait to see what I look like.

I am excited to realize that the food or fuel I put into my body really does affect how I feel.  For years, I did not make the connection between the crap I was consuming and how lousy, tired and depressed I felt.

You know the old saying, “You are what you eat”?

The one good thing about this past weekends binge is I proved this to myself.  If I put crap and junk into my body, crap and junk is all I can expect in return.

I am excited at learning about my body.  Over the past month of Zumba and interval training I know that my body will move in ways I never thought possible.  Not only that, it feels good!  To feel my muscles stretch and move in new ways constantly reminds me of how strong I can really be. 

I am excited to know that it is ok if my heart rate speeds up and I break a sweat.  I won’t collapse and die.  I even know now that if I push through those first few minutes of discomfort, it does become easier and is almost enjoyable.

Zumba tonight was FAN.FREAKIN.TASTIC!  I sweated like a pig and honestly had my nursery time not been up, I would have stayed for the next class.

Chris is running late tonight.  So we elected to have soup and sandwiches for dinner.  But, when I got home from Zumba I remembered I had an acorn squash, sweet potatoes, mushrooms, brussel sprouts and tofu.  I cut the acorn squash in half, drizzled a little EVOO (Thanks Rachel Ray) salt and pepper, then plopped them in a 400 degree oven for 60-75 minutes.  Next, I cubed and halved the sweet potatoes, tofu, mushrooms and brussel sprouts and followed suite with the EVOO, salt and pepper.

Every time I use pepper (I am not a user of any spices normally), especially fresh cracked pepper, I always think of my friend Liz.  Liz told me years and years and years (probably close to 20 years) that she loved pepper because her Daddy had loved it and it made her think of him.  I am coming around to it and it always brings back a memory of being at Liz’s hour and her dad standing in their kitchen.  I am truly  blessed to have had her as a friend for so many years.  She has been supportive and encouraging.  But that is a blog for a later date.  Until then, thanks Liz!

The smell of roasting veggies (mainly brussel sprouts) is wafting through the house.  My tummy is grumbling, and I can’t wait.  I just hope Chris likes it!

Interval, weights and core training in the morning.

Let’s get it started!

Do you have a friend or friends in your life, that you  can reflect on and see the influences they have had in your life, even if you didn’t realize it at the time?  Yes,  I have a few.  I promise to blog about them real soon…

1 Comment

Filed under General, Health

One response to “Tofu to the rescue…

  1. Melissa Khammash

    Yep I have a few friends like that. 🙂 Small things make me think of them at times. 😀
    I am really proud of you Christi! You are doing so awesome. I need to “catch” some enthusiasm now and get back on the wagon with exercise and all! 😀 I am sorry by the way for not being able to call—sick kid this week and not fun cleaning up after the yuckiness of that! 😦 He thankfully is better today—at least I didn’t have to change the bedding 4 times last night like the night before!

Leave a Reply

