Information

After reading countless websites and blogs recently, I have come to the realize that without a good, solid game plan and information/education about nutrition and exercise, I am never going to successfully beat these obesity demons.

I have been taking in as much information as I can and trying to educate myself as much as possible.  Not only do I want to lose this weight, I also want to do it in a healthy manner, that is going to be sustainable for the duration of my life (hopefully 50+ years).

With all that said, what it all boils down to is I need to start with the basics.

If you visit Rachel over at Body By Pizza and dig through her archives, you can find some formulas that will help to establish a  starting point.  The thing I like most about Rachel’s blog is I can relate to her.  From uncontrolled binges to needing to know the science behind why things work. 

Hang with me, it’s about to get good.

The first thing I needed to know was my Base Metabolic Rate (BMR):

Female:  655 + (4.3 X weight in pounds)+ (4.7 X height in inches) – (4.7 X age in years) = BMR

Male:  66 + (6.3 X weight in pounds) + (12.9 X height in inches) – (6.8 X age in years) = BMR

Let’s do the math to figure out my base metabolic rate (BMR).

655 + ( 4.3 X 332 lbs) + (4.7 X 68 inches) – (4.7 X 35 years) = BMR

655 + 1427.6 + 319.6 – 184.5 = 2217.6

We will just call it 2218.

My BMR is 2218 calories.  Now I know that if I do nothing all day except exist, my body will burn 2218 calories on its own.  This also tells me, if I don’t want to lose or gain weight my calorie consumption needs to be right at 2218.

Even when I am just slothing around, though, I am more active than this.  The next step to figure out is my active metabolic rate (AMR).  To do this, I have to determine what my daily activity level is.

  • Sedentary Physical Activity Level (desk job, other work that entails sitting down for most of the day.)  If yes, you score 1.1.
  • Light Physical Activity Level (on feet/walking around for 1/2 the day or more, e.g. stay at home mothers, sales people, doctors.) If yes, you score 1.2
  • Moderate Physical Activity Level (on the move all day with a few limited periods of being sedentary, e.g. gardeners, carpenters, mail carriers.) If yes, you score 1.3
  • High Physical Activity Level (constantly on the move with significant amount of physical labor, e.g. construction worker, farm worker, movers.)  If yes, you score 1.4

I scored a 1.1, to be safe.  Yes, I am a stay at home mom and do more than my fair share of laundry, dishes and cleaning, but I had rather go low here than high.

Next, I have to decide on my exercise expenditure.  I know by now that I average burning 500 calories every day that I exercise.

The equation looks like this:

BMR X Daily Activity Level + Exercise Expenditure = AMR

And here is what mine looks like:

2218 (BMR) X 1.1 (Daily Activity Level) + 500 (Exercise Expenditure) = 2939.8

I’ll just round that to a nice, tidy 2940.

Now I know that my AMR (active metabolic rate) is 2,940 calories!  That, my friends, is A LOT of grub, even for a fat girl.  And trust me I know!  Remember this previous weekend food frenzy?

A pound of fat is equal to 3,500 calories.  Now that I know what my AMR is, I can figure out how many calories I need in order to create a deficit large enough to lose weight.  I suppose I could just eat X amount of calories and not allow for the calories I burn during exercise.  The problem with this method is it could cause me to lose too much too fast.  At this point it is all about a slow and controlled loss in order to give my body time to adjust, learn new habits and increase my ability to maintain for the long-term.

2940 calories (daily AMR) X 7 days – 20,580 calories per week (weekly AMR)

I am going to say that my goal is to lose two pounds per week.  Reference back to the one pound of fat being equal to 3,500 calories.  I need to reduce my calorie intake by 7,000 per week.

20580 (weekly AMR) – 7000 calories (equivalent to 2 lbs) = 13,580 calories per week or 1940 per day.

However, since I only plan on exercising 5-6 days per week, this number will adjust daily based on if I exercise or not (by 500 calories). 

Also, another interesting thing Rachel has to say is, the book she was reading by Jillian Michaels (Winning by Loosing), recommends ways you can lose the weight and minimize chances of plateaus.  Jillian suggests working with your deficit on a weekly, rather than daily, basis by varying your caloric intake day-to-day.  Doing so may keep your metabolism from adapting to a fixed reduction!

I so need to just buy this book!  It sounds great.

I want to offer a big ol’ thank ya to Rachel over at Body By Pizza, for sharing all this great information.  I apologize if any of this seems like a direct copy, some of it there was no way around.  This is not my original idea, Rachel presented it in her blog first and it clicked with me, so I am running with it.  If you like the information, go over and give Rachel some love.  Be sure to check out her archives.  She is pretty well in the maintainance stage of her journey, and she has tons of knowledge and experience we “newbies” can learn from.

The scales were a little kinder today with 329.5 lbs.  I am not updating  my weight in page, because today wasn’t an official weight in day.

Zumba was great yesterday.  it felt great and was brutal all at the same time!  Jason (my Zumba instructor) is tough, but oh.so.much.fun!  If you live in the Abilene area check him out Zumba Jason!

I did my 1.5 mile interval training today along with weights and core. 

I have been doing better with my eating the past couple of days.  I have not been hungry or felt deprived in any way and still came in under my calorie goal.  I have felt so much better too.  I never realized that as comforting as food can be, it has also been the culprit for why I had felt bad for so long!  I know, I am slow…

Weekly Calorie intake plan, to be consumed 300-400 calories at time, every 2-3 hours through out the day.

Sunday – 1900 calories
Monday – 2000 calories
Tuesday – 1500 calories
Wednesday – 2000 calories
Thursday – 1600 calories
Friday – 2000 calories
Saturday – 1800 calories

That gives me a total of 12,800 calories per week.  Not quite the 13,580 calorie goal.  That is an additional 1,580 calories I can play with or save in case I have an “accident” one day. 

In put and feed back people!!  I need it!

I’d also like to share a recipe I have been making a lot.

1 6 oz Chobani Greek Yogurt (flavor of your choice) – 140 calories
1 med banana – 105 calories
1 c Almond Breeze milk – 40 calories
blend until smooth.  Add a little ice if you like it thicker.  285 calories!  Yummy!

The banana is key.  I love Love LOVE the thick, creamy texture it gives the milk when blended.  When I was in high school, I use to make milk/banana shakes all of the time.  So glad I found them again!

Are you ready for Christmas yet?  I am not!

4 Comments

Filed under General, Health

4 responses to “Information

  1. Elizabeth

    I know I’ve said this before and I will most likely say it again but I am so proud of you Christi. You are getting your act together in relation to losing weight and I feel like i’m just, I dunno, treading water. Oh well, I am so happy for you. That was really interesting about Jillian Micheals saying to vary your calories so your body won’t get used to a certain amount. I never thought of that! I am going to keep that in mind.

  2. Wow, I haven’t thought about my weight loss in these terms. you’re really off to a great start and have all the information you need to get you going! Good luck on your journey!

  3. Melissa Khammash

    GREAT! Awesome info! I am really proud of the way you are going about losing weight!

  4. Wow – you have a great plan in place! I can’t wait to come back and see your progress. Keep it up!

Leave a Reply

