Monday

Happy Monday, people!

I spent a wonderful weekend with my family at my Mama’s house.  We drove down Friday night after Chris got off work.  Our original plan was to come home Saturday night, so that we would be able to go to church on Sunday.  Instead, we stayed until late last night.

It was nice, we did  not watch much TV or get online the entire weekend.  In fact, my cell phone doesn’t even work out there.  It was nice to just “unplug” for a while.

Going home is always a bitter-sweet thing for me.  Since Daddy died 2.5 years ago, I am reluctant to go.  I really do love going home, but all the sights and sounds make me miss him all the more.

This past Saturday my son Gavin would have been 12 years old, had he lived.  Mama and I went up to the cemetery where Gavin, my brother and my Daddy are all buried.  It was terrible.  No one had  mowed out there in what appeared to be months.  The weeds were  thigh high on me.  Chris and I went back yesterday morning and mowed and cleaned up the lot where my family is buried.  At least the Perkins lot looks better.

It seems like all we did all weekend was eat.  Saturday afternoon, we had sort of “Lunner”.  I know you call a meal between breakfast and lunch “Brunch”, but I am not sure what a mid afternoon meal is called.

Mama made salad, chicken fried steak, mashed potatoes and homemade mac & cheese.  I ate entirely too much.   But no one, and I do mean no one, cooks like my Mama.  She doesn’t think she is a good cook, and is always comparing her cooking to her Mothers.  Funny thing is, I do the same thing with her.

That night we elected to snack for dinner.  We made bacon wrapped stuffed jalapenos, cheese and ranch dips.  Then yesterday afternoon we went to Underwoods and ate more food!

I am dreading, D.R.E.A.D.I.N.G. getting on the scales later this afternoon.  Hopefully the Zumba, interval training and weight lifting will at least hold me to no weight gain.

I know most people dread the holidays because they fear gaining weight.  However, I don’t normally worry about this time of year.  Why?  you may ask.  Simple, I don’t really care for “holiday” foods.  I can eat it, don’t get me wrong.  It is justthe “everday ” stuff is more of a pit-fall for me.

Anyways, time to get my day started.  I have to go grocery shopping before the wrecking crew gets out of school.  Zumba this afternoon!

How was your weekend?

1 Comment

Filed under General

One response to “Monday

  1. Elizabeth

    I’m glad you had a good time at your mom’s house. I understand the bitter sweet aspect all too well. It will be 20 years next year since daddy died and going up there still reminds me so much of him. I guess that will never change. It is nice to unplug and hang out in the country every so often. I don’t get a chance to do it nearly enough but when I do, it’s so nice.

Leave a Reply

