Name my game

Zumba was brutal yesterday.  B.R.U.T.A.L.

On Monday, the instructor had alternated the dance routines between fast and slow.  Yesterday, however, he started fast and held it at the same intensity for the full hour.  I do not know of another time I have ever sweated so much.  My shirt was literally dripping.

I did try harder at doing more of the moves.  I was nowhere near being perfect.  About 20 minutes into the class, it dawned on me that I don’t have to do each move or step perfect.  Once I had that in my head the rest of the class was a breeze.  Well it was sweaty and hard, but without the pressure of trying to do it all perfect, I actually got more out of it.

Back to the gym I go this morning.  The Y is quickly becoming my home away from home.

I am going to participate in a challenge the Y is sponsoring.   I will be doing the weight loss part.  The challenge runs from Nov 15 thru Dec 31 (previously I had said Dec 15).  Prizes will be awarded to participants for 5, 10, and 15 pound losses.  I don’t know what the prizes will be, but that isn’t really the purpose of why I am taking the challenge.

Yesterday I began the eating small meals every 2 hours, in hopes that I can speed my metabolism up.

I did OK with it.  It felt like I was constantly eating.  The protein shake I had for breakfast pretty well kept me feeling full until about 2pm.  Even at 2pm I wasn’t starving, but I was beginning to get the first pangs of hunger.  Instead of having a frozen strawberry and Almond Breeze milk smoothie, I decided to “pump it up”.  After all Zumba was coming.  I ended up adding a banana and 2 tbsp of almond butter.  This did fill me up!  In fact at 4pm I had a hard time getting my pre-Zumba banana down.

I am glad that i did add to that 2pm smoothie AND forced myself to eat that extra banana.  By the time I made it home from Zumba I was famished.

Luckily, I had prepared for dinner tonight.  I had made Mexican crock pot chicken while at Zumba! lol  As most of you may know, I loath chicken (normally).  This meal was a very pleasant surprise.  The chicken was moist and tender.  It didn’t have that funky chicken flavor I normally don’t like.

I served this Mexican crock pot chicken over corn tortilla’s and sprinkled with cheddar cheese (open-faced taco).  Much to my own surprise I loved it!  Totally plan on making this again.

Here is the recipe I used:

4 boneless/skinless chicken breast
1 can diced tomatoes
1 can black beans
1 can mexican chili beans (Ranch Style beans for all you Texans)
1 can corn
2 sm or 1 lg can of chopped green chili’s
1 pack taco seasoning
 
Layer the ingredients into crock pot in order listed above.  Do not drain the tomatoes or beans.  Do not stir.  Put on lid, turn crock pot onto low and allow to cook 7 to 8 hours.  About 30 minutes before you are ready to serve, remove the chicken and shred.  Place shredded chicken back into crock pot and stir.  Turn on high and allow to simmer for about 20 minutes.  This will allow the chicken to absorb some of the juices.
 

I do not know how many servings this should make, but I do know there are about 220 calories per serving.  It did serve all 6 people of my family well.  There was even enough left over for a serving tomorrow.

Tomorrows menu looks something like this:

8am:     Smart Smoothie – 120 calories
                1c Almond Breeze milk, vanilla – 40 calories
 
10am:     banana – 105 calories
 
12pm:     cheesy scrambled eggs
                   2 eggs – 180 calories
                   1 tbsp margarine – 70 calories
                   whipped cream cheese – 70 calories
 
2pm:     banana with 2 tbsp almond butter – 295 calories
 
4pm:     open-faced tuna melt
                 1 slice of bread – 70 calories
                 1/2 can tuna – 95 calories
                 1 tbsp mayo – 49 calories
                 1 oz shredded cheddar cheese – 110 calories
 
6pm:     Luna bar – 180 calories
 
8pm:     stew (minus potatoes)
 

Before the stew the calories are about 1384.

After my strength test, I a, going to do day 2 of the Couch 2 5K program.  Tuesday I did day 1.  After a brisk 5 minute walk you are supposed to alternate between 60 seconds of jogging and 90 seconds of walking.  I didn’t technically jog, I brisked walked.  I may have to repeat week 1 again.  But that is ok because it isn’t about being perfect right now.  It is about getting and keeping my body moving.

Speaking of keeping my body moving, during the day I did my standard “I don’t wanna go to the gym, I’m too tired” routine. 

I don’t sleep well at night, especially if I fall asleep and then get woke up.  It is next to impossible for me to go back to sleep.  Last night was no different.  I was finally able to sleep around 4am and I was up by 645am with the girls.  However, after dropping them off at school, I refused to let myself go back to bed.  So by 3pm yesterday, naturally, I was exhausted.

Somehow, I made myself go.  I really thought that after my Zumba work out, I’d be dead tired.  Much to my surprise though I felt GREAT!  I was awake, alert and I had energy.

Of course, as soon as dinner was over and the girls were in bed, I set down to work on my blog and was out.  About 2 hours later I woke up as Chris was getting ready for bed.  Now it’s 1:30am and I am wide awake.

Oh well…

Perseverance and motivation, that is the name of my game.

How do you manage your meals/calories for the day?

Any tips for getting quality sleep at night?

Any tips on how to go back to sleep if I get woke up?

It’s Thursday, how’s your weekend shaping up?

2 Comments

Filed under General, Health

2 responses to “Name my game

  1. Melissa Khammash

    You are doing great! Wish I could call today—going to the farm later before you all even get up LOL. Keep it up! 😀

    tips on sleeping–don’t nap. Just go to bed a bit earlier. As for going back to sleep I don’t have any problems with that unless something is worrying me at the time. I guess 5 years so far of getting/jumping out of bed when the kids cry got me used to being able to crawl back under the covers and fall asleep easily. I breastfed both kids for 2 years each too—night feedings are a hassle by the way LOL—so definitely had to force myself to go back to sleep quickly. My hubby isn’t like that and I have tried telling him just close your eyes, start relaxing your body from toes up to your head and you should fall asleep. LOL—I don’t think it worked too well with him. 😀

    Can’t wait until Sunday is over (Hamza has school only that day this week!) and then the rest of the week is off until the following Sunday for our Eid holiday! WOOHOO! 😀

  2. zumbagoodness

    “About 20 minutes into the class, it dawned on me that I don’t have to do each move or step perfect. Once I had that in my head the rest of the class was a breeze. Well it was sweaty and hard, but without the pressure of trying to do it all perfect, I actually got more out of it.”

    You hit the nail on the head! Zumba is NOT about doing dance steps perfectly…we just want you to move! lol But if you also keep in mind that you get out of the class what you put into it, you can work it the best you can and end up sweaty, happy, and healthy. 🙂

Leave a Reply

