What Does Day Light Savings Time Really Save?

The answer to that question is easy, my sanity! 

My beautiful, sweet, wild girls go full force from sun up until sun down, most days.  During the summer and weekends, while standard time is in effect, the days see, to drag on and on and on…

Over the years I have conditioned my girls so well, they know they are not allowed out of bed until the whole sun can be seen over the eastern horizon.  On that some note, when the sun begins to dip below the western horizon, they know it is time for, and are pretty much ready for, bed. 

Now, the only exception to this is in late fall and early spring when they are forced to get up while it is still dark or go to bed while the sun is relatively still high in the sky.  Day light savings time is  welcomed in our house!

Today at church, Chris and I were able to assist with a baptism.  When we were looking for a way to “get connected” at our church, there just so happened to be an opening on the baptism team.  Chris and I couldn’t think of a better time to be involved in people’s lives, than as they are preparing to make their confession.  What an exciting time!  And we were blessed enough to be a part of it this morning!

I have been reading some about training for a marathon.  I have come to realize that I know very little about fitness health.  I understand quite a bit about injury and illness, due to my EMS training.  I do not know much if anything about nutrition and how it relates to fitness.  (Yes, I know: eat less + move more = weight loss)

I want to know more about how to properly fuel my body for exercise and how to use nutrition to help my body recover.

Do any of you have any suggestions for a magazine, book or website, where I can get information?

How was your weekend?

My weekend was great.  We cleaned up the house and did laundry yesterday.  Today we had an amazing time at church.  Overall, just a nice and relaxing  weekend.

Do you like or dislike the time changes? 

I do like the time changes.  By the time they come around in the year, I am ready for the day light hours to either be shorter or longer.  I know, too bad I can’t make up my mind!

What is your favorite season?  Why? 

My favorite season is fall.  I love the cooler weather.  I love the colors as we transition from summer to fall.  And we can’t forget football!

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “What Does Day Light Savings Time Really Save?

  1. Kristi Donohoe

    A great site is c25k…couch to 5k. U can find them on facebook and go from there. I will try to remember to send you the link.

Leave a Reply

