Lip service, anyone?

Oh happy Monday!  Could I possibly be the only person in history that actually looks forward to Mondays?  As much as I love my children and husband and as much as I love to spend time with them, by the time Monday rolls around, I can’t help but let go of a huge sigh of relief as I tuck my kids into bed on Sunday nights.  Our weekends are often filled with various activities, most of which are out-of-town.  I know as Monday approaches, it will bring a return of a schedule.  I use to never keep a schedule.  I slept when I wanted, ate whenever.  But as I get older, I find I take comfort in a schedule.  The spontaneity I once thrived on, and dare I say defined me, is something of the past.

So as I prepare to welcome in the familiar and comforting routine Mondays bring, I am also preparing to shake my routine up just a bit.  Instead of going to the gym after dropping the wrecking crew off at school, I am going to wait until after school to go.  The reason for this change-up is because Carolyne and I are going to start taking the Zumba class on Monday, Wednesday and Friday afternoons.  Then on Tuesday and Thursdays while the girls are in their karate classes I am going to walk and do core strengthening.  I figure if I don’t like the Zumba classes after a couple of weeks I can always go back to what I was doing.  So now I will include Tuesday and Thursday blogs on a more regular basis.

And now for something completely different…

Monty Python fans can thank me later for the obscure reference!

At church yesterday, Pastor David was talking about worshipping the Lord in your heart versus just going through the motions or offering lip service.  This really hit home with me because it is something I struggle with daily.

How do you get to that point where worshipping the Lord, serving the Lord is all you desire?

I can argue both sides of faith.  My intellectual/logical mind can give reason after reason why religion and specifically Christianity is just people grasping for meaning for their lives.  On the other hand, I can tell you from personal experience, that when i am going to church, when I am trying to lead a righteous life, when I am seeking to understand religion and know the Lord, my life is better.  But most importantly, I know in my heart of hearts that there is only one true God and that the good news of Jesus Christ is the only path to salvation!

My question is:  How do you get (or keep) that passion?  Even when the Lord first revealed himself to me, I never had that passion I see others having.  This is something I have spent many hours in prayer about.  I have begged the Lord to give me that passion.  I have prayed for Him to guide me in the direction I need to go in order to find that passion.  Almost a year later, i still feel as if I am simply going through the motions or offering lip service.  Desiring to offer more than  lip service, how do I reconcile a life time of no faith?

If I am so certain that there is a God, how is it doubt creeps back in?  I ask myself all the time why do I believe in God?  There doesn’t have to be a God.  Science explains just about everything.  Even Stephen Hawking, who has always upheld a belief in a creator, has recently recanted this theory and has released the statement/theory “God did NOT create the universe“. 

Because,  the Lord has revealed himself to me.  Because, I have seen the Lord work in mine and the lives of my family.  Because, I have seen the Lord work in other people’s lives.  Because, without a God, a creator, a savior, what is the purpose in all of this? 

How do I get the joy?  How do I get the passion?  How do I move beyond going through the motions and offering lip service?  How do I make Jesus Christ, my God, my savior, my #1?

3 Comments

Filed under General, Health, Spiritual

3 responses to “Lip service, anyone?

  1. Jamie

    I know that Mondays are my favorite day too!
    As for passion for God and the things of God I find myself in the exact same position. Although I vividly remember when I has a holy fire burning in me and I longed for nothing more than Jesus.. What happened to this days??!!

    I believe 2 things have happened. 1. God became less and less of apriority to me. I began putting other things in the way. I quit talking to him on a consistent basis and began speaking to him on a convenient basis..
    2. I never found balance. If I was close to God then I was a terrible wife and mother.. I don’t know why but i always felt like I could have one with the other… And I resented that…

    But I have to realize that thre is a season for everything and u do have passion.. Its just filtered in a different way.. And it needs to be revealed..

    Be patient! And be consistent and intentional in your time with God and you’ll see the fruit in that!!

    • Jamie, I know right? But the way I understand it is, by having that close relationship and seeking the Lord, everything else is suppsoe to fall into place and be easier. It doesn’t seem to work that way for me. I am a very black and white kinda gal. Not much grey. I am either all in or all out. Don’t know for sure, but I would venture to say you may be like that too?

  2. Jamie

    I meant to say I always felt I couldn’t have one with the other…

Leave a Reply

