There’s nothing quite like home cooking.

I confess, I skipped the Y today.  The main reason I decided not to go is because my new living room furniture was being delivered between 10 am and 3 pm.  Don’t you just love general times for a service or delivery person to show up?  After all, I know I have nothing better to do than sit around waiting for them.  My favorite part is when the delivery person calls at like 5 til 3 pm to say they are running late.  I don’t think I will ever understand how I can go from being the most important person in the world yesterday, how they can go from being so quick and johnny-on-the-spot to collect money from me, to when it comes to deliveries or service, the best I can hope for is a mediocre service and an all day wait for my already paid for merchandise.

The other reason I didn’t bother with the gym today was because I had horrific leg cramps last night.  I knew starting an exercise regime, I would have sore muscles that occasionally would cramp.  I have increased my fluids and sodium trying to prevent this.  When my legs first started cramping, I stumbled down the hall to the medicine cabinet.  I applied a generous amount of muscle rub to the afflicted muscle.  Normally the relief comes within minutes of the muscle rub heating up.  Not last night, it took about 30 minutes and numerous trips back and forth down the hall.  The muscle was so cramped up  my calve appeared to be flat.  Finally, it relaxed enough I was able to go back to bed.

I didn’t eat much during the day today, because I feel pretty icky with my tooth.  Luckily the sucker comes out in the morning!  Not looking forward to the procedure, but certainly eager for some relief. 

When Chris called wanting to know what was for dinner, I was wanting to cook something comforting.  We have been eating out a lot lately, partly because of our schedules and partly because of the funk that I have been in.  I decided to make meatloaf.  I make individual meat loafs with bell pepper, onion and mushrooms covered in lots of Heinz catch up!   When the catch up carmalizes in the over it is one of the best flavors ever.  Instead of the normal mashed potatoes I make to go with meatloaf, I was feeling  homemade macaroni and cheese.  My Mama’s recipe.  I put them together the exact same way she does, but mine never seem to taste as good as hers.

Alas, we are just sitting here waiting for supper to finish cooking.  We are also watching the World Series and then a little Survivor. 

Praying that the Lord lets this extraction go quickly and painlessly tomorrow.

What are your go to comfort foods to make?

1 Comment

Filed under General

One response to “There’s nothing quite like home cooking.

  1. Melissa Khammash

    HOpe the tooth stuff gets totally resolved today girl! 😦 Not fun I know!

    My go to comfort food (besides junk LOL)—hmm, pizza (homemade), soups/stews, fried fish fillets and mashed potatoes, grilled cheese sandwiches (which honestly I am craving at the moment LOL) and veggie, cheese and egg omlets. 😀 I love alot of middle eastern foods too—heck, I just like foods period! 😀 haha!

    Gotta watch the foods now though…wanted blue cheese so bad yesterday, picked it up at the store and then it dawned on me “yeah, hmm, don’t know if I am pregnant so not a good choice”. One thing about trying for a baby or being pregnant—NO BLUE CHEESE OR RUNNY EGGS. UGH. Two of my fav foods too. Oh well. God willing though I will be pregnant with baby #3 soon. (my family doesn’t know NOR am I telling them until a bit later into the pregnancy as I know the negativity that I am going to hear UGH!)

Leave a Reply

