What is your inner super hero?

I have to admit, I am a little proud of myself today.  I fought off my natural instinct of coming home after dropping the girls off at school and going back to bed. 

At 7:30 this morning, the girls and I were out the door like a herd of turtles.  We loaded our  somewhat sluggish,  not so rested bodies into the car for our morning trek to the schools.    After dropping the wrecking crew off at their respected facilities of learning, Camrynn and I made our cross town cruise for our routine Sonic bounty.  I grabbed my standard, diet Coke with lemon wedges, because I had a delicious and oh-so-crunchy honeycrisp apple on hand for munching.  Camrynn ordered her favorite stand by, banana.  She had a sippy-cup full of wholesome milk to round out her breakfast. 

After gathering our goodies, we defiantly drove past our exit home.  Determined to get past this slump I had been in, I set the cruise control on 70 mph and cranked up the radio as we headed to the YMCA.  Admittedly, I did have to call Chris about half way there for some extra encouragement.  Good thing he is on board because before I even told him why I was calling,  he knew.  He answered the phone “You better get your ass to the Y, my trophy wife ain’t gonna make herself!”  He always knows how to make me laugh.

I realize that I really know very little about exercise.  I am thinking I should have spent some time doing some good stretches, before I began my exercise.  But, alas, I did not.  I am not so much sore so as I am stiff.  Chris has assured me he will teach me how to stretch later so I’ll be more prepared tomorrow. 

After I had dropped Camrynn off at her nursery, I made my way to the locker room to weigh.  To my horror my weight this morning was 338 lbs.  That is a 5 pound gain since I last weighted.  I am hoping that some of this gain is due to water retention left over from my monthly visitor.  Time will tell.  Either way it has to go…..

Not to be discouraged I quickly found an empty treadmill.  I jumped on and set the timer for 30 minutes.  I increased the speed to 2.5 mph over the first 2 minutes.  On my drive over to the Y, I had toyed with the idea and what ifs  of doing small increases and decreases of my speed.  I was hoping to get my heart rate above 130 today and keep it there for the duration of my walk, without completely annihilating myself. 

After the initial 2 minute warm up, I did a steady 2 minutes at 2.5 miles per hour.  Then I increased my speed to 3 mph for 2 minutes.  When that was finished I again cranked up the speed to 3.5 mph for another 2 minutes.  It worked, 3.5 mph got my heart rate up to 143 bpm.  However, because I am in such bad shape right now, it was wreaking havoc on my back and legs.  So after huffing and buffing like a mad woman for 2 minutes I backed my speed down to 3 mph for 2 minutes.  Then on down to 2.5 mph.  I continued this cycle for the duration of my 30 minute work out, except for the last 2 minutes where I continued to slow my pace down by .5 mph every minute.  This actually seemed to work pretty well.  It got my heart rate up above where I was aiming and it kept it up, even when walking at a slower pace.  I was good and sweaty when it was all over with, and I feel like I made some huge progress.  It’s all about baby steps right?

I walked 1.3 miles during that 30 minutes with an average pace of 3 mph.  I burned 296 calories.  Not nearly the calories I have taken in today, but much more than I burn while doing the couch to potato work out.

I didn’t feel finished when I was done on the treadmill, so I ventured over to the weight room.  It is true that I know very little about exercise, it is even more true that I know nothing about lifting weights.  But the weight machines at the Y had pictures and instructions on them.  Not wanting to necessarily “lift weights”, I set all the machines to the lowest weight possible (10 lbs per).  I did 3 sets of 6 reps each.  Working on my arms, I controlled the push and the pull of the machines.  Making sure to take my time with each rep.  I don’t know where I heard it, but it seems I heard one time that the key to toning is controlling how you lift the weight.  Since I didn’t have much weight on the machines, for me it was just about working some long neglected muscle groups. 

After all was said and done at the Y, I called Chris to find out his status at work.  Apparently during the time it took me to take the kids to school and work out for an hour, he managed to get finished at work.  He had an errand to run, but then wanted to meet me for lunch.  Since I hadn’t eaten yet, he didn’t have to ask me twice.  We debated over where to go and finally settled on Red Robbin.

Chris and I had only been to Red Robbin once, years ago, so this was something new for us.  We took our seats and began browsing the menu.  We ordered jalapeno chips and fried mozzarella sticks.  Not the healthiest choice I know, but I was splitting them and only planned on have a taste or two.   I also noticed that they offered a cobb salad.  I heart cobb salad.  It has all my favorite salad toppings.  I also had a cup of french onion soup.

I had 2.5 cheese sticks and maybe 1/2 of the fried jalapenos.  I did finish my cup of soup, which was de.lic.ous!  And that cobb salad. OH MY!  It was beautiful.  Grilled chicken, avocado, tomatoes, boiled egg, bacon, black olives and blue cheese crumbles  all over a bed of ice-cold lettuce. I only managed to eat about half of this ginormous salad.  

Feeling pretty good about my food choices for the day, when I got home I decided to go to the Red Robin web site to look up the nutritional information for my lunch.   Here is what I found out:

A full-sized order of the fresh fried mozzarella comes with 10 stick in an order, and have a calorie count of 603.  Because we had ordered the pick two appetizer, ours came with 5.  I had 2.5 of these bad boys for 150.8 calories.

A full order of the jalapeno chips offered 773 calories!  Again, because we had the pick two choice we got about half of a normal order.  I consumed about half of our order (or 1/4 of a normal order) for 193.3 calories.

The cup of french onion soup, that I adored,  had 254 calories. 

My beloved cobb salad which came with about 2 oz of ranch dressing (and yes I used), came in at a whopping 823 calories.  Luckily, I was only able to snarf down a little less than half of this monster.  Total calories for the salad I had was about 411.5.

My total calorie intake for lunch alone was 1009.6.  What the???  I know right!  Especially when I realize I am trying to keep my total calories for an entire day between 1200 and 1550.  Good thing is, I am still stuffed from lunch, so a light dinner is definitely in order!

Over all today was a success.  I did go to the gym.  I did work out.  I did keep track of the foods I ate. 

Did you do anything that you consider a success today?

On another note, we went and picked the girls Halloween costumes out today.  Carolyne is going to be Super Woman, Catherynn is going to be Wonder Woman, Christyan is going to be Bat Girl and Camrynn is going to be a cow.

What is your inner super hero?

2 Comments

Filed under Health

2 responses to “What is your inner super hero?

  1. Jamie

    GOOOOOOOOOODDDDD JJJJJJJJOOOOOOOOBBBBB!!!!!!!!!!

    I have not done anything but have a bad attitude that has lasted since yesterday… Blaming that on the same as your weight gain…

    My inner super hero would have to be?????? I don’t really know.. Gonna have to give it some thought….

  2. Melissa Khammash

    Great on going to the gym (sorry for the sore tooth though!!!)!!!

    Shocking how many calories are in foods right?! I know some of my fav foods that I thought were healthy were shockingly full of calories! Crazy.

    Keep it up girl! You are doing great!

    My inner super hero??? Hmmm…not sure. LOL—my super power—I made milk for both of my babies for 2 years each (4 years total of breastfeeding! Crazy right???)! Hahaha!

Leave a Reply

