It’s been a crazy couple of weeks!

First, I want to thank everyone for you terrific comments on Wednesday’s blog.  You guys are so awesome and gave me tons of things to read and think about!

Second, I want to apologize for being so late with this blog.  To be honest, I have just been at a loss for words. 

For the past couple of weeks something has been weighing heavily on my heart.  Just last night we got some news that just really tears at me.

Chris is friends with a guy who works for the company he hauls for.  Chris first met Greg shortly after we were baptized and starting this new journey in our lives.  Greg is a religious man and takes great joys in sharing the Lord with people.  Chris and Greg became fast friends.  Not friends in the sense that they hang out all the time, but friends in the sense of knowing you have someone else in your corner in this crazy world.

About 6 weeks ago, Greg came down with bronchitis.  We had some extra ribs from when we barbecued for my aunts, so Chris and I drove them over to Greg’s.  When Chris took the ribs to the door, Greg looked and sounded horrible.  Coughing and hacking just looked tired and wore out.  Sometime over the next week Greg was admitted to the hospital for pneumonia.  His pneumonia was so bad, they actually transferred him to Parkland in Dallas, TX.   Once there, they pretty well told him that what ever was going on with him was cardiac in nature and discharged him the next day. 

Thus began Greg and his wifes quest to find out what was going on with him.  After countless doctors visits they were told that Greg has an enlarged heart.  The angioscope that was performed on him did not discover any blockages.  Greg’s official diagnosis is unexplained cardiomyopathy.  Basically this man, who is in his early 40’s, was told he has the heart of a man about 98 years old.  One doctor even told them that he has the worst case of cardiomyopathy that he has ever seen.

Greg and his wife, Melissa, have 2 small girls ages 7 and 4.  They had been struggling since moving to Abilene, because Melissa had been unable to find a job that would accommodate 2 small kids and a husband that works nights.  At the beginning of August, Melissa finally was offered a position at Abilene High School, teaching pre-nursing classes.  Things were starting to fall into place for them, then they were hit with all this. 

Greg has been unable to work in 6 weeks.  Melissa reports that he gets too short of breath to even talk on the phone.  Currently he is being treated with medications and is taking the steps necessary to be placed on a transplant list. 

The Lord has led Chris and my hearts to this family.  So much so, we are considering asking some of the elders from our church, Beltway Park Baptist Church, to go over and lay hands on Greg and pray for him. 

Please keep Greg, Melissa and their family in your thoughts and prayers.

On a lighter note, since starting my “life style alteration” I have lost 3 lbs.  I don’t know how because I haven’t been going to the gym due to everyone being sick last week and my being sick this week.   But, I’ll take what I can get!

Do you believe in the healing power of prayer?  Do you believe in laying hands on during prayer? 

What can I offer to this family to help ease their worry and pain, but more importantly to encourage them to hold tight to their faith? 

Hope everyone has a great weekend!  Talk to ya’ll Monday, for sure!

4 Comments

Filed under Spiritual

4 responses to “It’s been a crazy couple of weeks!

  1. Jamie pogue

    Hmmm girl.. Where to start..
    First of all I am sadened that this family is having to go through this and that Greg went downhill so fast.. I will be praying and believing God to heal his body completely…

    On that note, here is what I know of healing and where I stand on the issue…

    I absolutely believe in the laying of hands and the power of healing through prayer… I have actually been a part of many a prayer meetings where healings have taken place…

    I also know that so many people have different views on healing and if it is Gods will etc, etc..
    All I know is that if Jesus did it, then it’s Gods will… He said he came to do His Fathers will.. So anyway thats that…

    I’m half asleep typing this but it’s on my mind so I need to let it out… So if it seems scattered then that’s why!!

    Ok so, I think it’s a great idea to have the elders come and lay hands on him and pray..
    But a lot of people think that if healing doesn’t come immediately then it isn’t Gods will.. This is not so. Gods healing has already come to pass..through the blood of Jesus.. (by his stripes we are healed, isaiah 53 or 55) However the physical effects of that healing can come over time.. I don’t quiet know why, but I have only experience to tell you that…

    Anyway I think the best thing you can do to ease the worry is to be there ad meet any needs that may arise, weather it be cooking a meal, watching the kids, visiting or just praying with them and for them… So many times we tell people to call us if they need anything and the minute they call we find a reason to not be able to help.. So be available to help would be my best advise… And help the wife to laugh.. It brings such strength!! And hug her when if she cries…

    But I think you already got that one covered… You’re heart isn’t the type that sits around and waits for others to move.. So I know you will be a great help to them..

    Anyway, keep us posted on the progress!! Let them know that prayers are going up!!

  2. Melissa Khammash

    Your friend will be in my prayers. I am so sorry to hear this, Christi.

  3. Tawnya

    Hey hun, I’m so sorry to hear about Greg. I will be praying for him and his family. Let me just say that I whole heartedly believe in the power of prayer and of laying hands on people for healing. I truly believe that Jessica would not be here if it weren’t for prayer. When Jess was born prayer kept her with us and kept me at peace. Then when Jess was about 2 years old she had a huge knot come up on the side of her neck. It really had me worried so I took her to the ER. Well they did blood work and the first set of results were not good. They were talking lymphoma. Well they decied to redo the blood test and once again the results came back the same. They immediately admitted her to keep her safe from germs. She was in isolation for her own protection. That night my preacher, and some other people from the church came up to the hospital and with all of them in gowns and masks everyone stood around Jess and layed hands on her and prayed. Ok, so here’s the miracle…the next morning they re-did the blood test once again. About 3 hours later the doctor comes walking in the room without a mask or gown with a big smile on his face. He said “I don’t know what was going on but Jess’s blood results are perfectly normal today.” We went home that afternoon and she was fine. The knot went away after about a week. Now, I know a lot of people would say it was just a mix up in the lab, but I know in my heart that it was the power of prayer and God’s healing that Jess was better. That’s why I call her my miracle child. So, I say go for it!!! Prayer is the best medicine!!!

  4. Elizabeth

    First of all, I’d like to say congrats on your weight loss. Secondly, I am so sorry to hear about your friend. I will be praying for Jesus’s healing power to heal him. I’d like to be honest with you and share that healing is something I have struggled with since my dad died. I remember praying and really believing that daddy would be healed of cancer and see me graduate. It was a huge crush to my faith when that did not happen. Also, in 2001, my neice in one week went from a healthy 2 month old baby to dying from a rare, aggressive cancer. Once again, I couldn’t understand why the Lord wouldn’t heal her. After my second miscarriage, there was one night where I completely lost faith. That is a scary dark place. Even at my lowest period, I still felt in my heart the gentle call of Jesus to come to Him in prayer. Honestly, I was like, whatever and prayed out of obedience. I thank Him so much that He called to me that night and I had such an amazing healing that night. I say all this to say that things many times don’t make sense but I know that Jesus is there through all of it. I know He can heal Greg and I believe He can. I still struggle with healing and faith but the alternative is a horrible place that I will not go.

    One of the verses that comforts me and builds up hope and faith is in Philippians, Chap 4 v 6 – 7. “Be anxious for nothing, but in everything by prayer and supplication with thanksgiving let your requests be made know to God. And the peace of God, which surpasses all comprehension, shall guard your hearts and your minds in Christ Jesus.”

    To me, peace is one of the most important things we can strive to have. It only comes from Christ and during good times and uncertain times, I pray we all go to Him for peace.

    Sorry so wordy, it’s just faith and healing to me are so emotional. As for the elders of the church, I would certainly do that. The Bible talks of doing that and anointing with oil on the sick. May Greg be healed in the name of Jesus Christ.

Leave a Reply

